The MPG Awards is a national contest open to all journalists and outlets from across the country. The contest is open to works that have been published in that calendar year. We look forward to your entries.


Members and Non-Members of the Motor Press Guild are eligible to submit work for consideration. Works that have been published, posted on commercial sites on the Internet or broadcast over the air in the United States of America are eligible. English language submissions only.
We will accept submissions from publishers on behalf of authors and creators, subject to the same terms, rules, and fees as for submission by those authors and creators. Any awards or prizes resulting from such submissions will be granted to the author/creator, not to the publisher.


Submission Dates:

Submissions must be received with completed submission forms and fees paid in full on or before the due date. No late submissions will be considered..

Submission Fees:

  • $25 per submission 

Submission Limits:

No limit on the number of submissions. Both MPG members and non-members are welcome to submit as many works in as many categories as they wish. Each work is subject to a separate submission fee and must be accompanied by a separate fully completed entry form.

How to submit entries

Complete the electronic form and follow the instructions below, depending on the category.

  • Articles: Submissions shall be made via a downloadable link in the same resolution as originally published or in .pdf format via electronic submission.
  • Books: Three copies of each book submitted for consideration. If authors wish to receive their books back at the conclusion of judging, they must include self-addressed mailers with sufficient postage for their return. Any books received without mailers or postage will become the property of the Motor Press Guild.
  • Social Media: Must provide a link to the social media post or YouTube Channel. The accounts must be public without restriction (i.e. must subscribe in order to view content).
  • Audio/Visual: Videos to be sent via a downloadable link in the same resolution as originally published or on DVD. Audio programs to be sent via a downloadable link in .mp3 format or on CD.
  • Photos: Photos to be sent via a downloadable link in the same resolution as originally published or in hard copy as originally published.


Judging will be conducted by MPG members and non-members appointed by the Chair of the MPG Awards Committee. Each award category will have a Head Judge and two additional Judges, who will select the MPG Best of the Year Award winners and the Bob D’Olivo Award for Photography. A final panel of three judges, including the Chair of the MPG Awards Committee as Head Judge, will then select the winner of the Dean Batchelor Award from amongst the category winners. Award finalists will be announced, and winners will be announced at the MPG Awards Ceremony.
The judging panel in each category can select up to three finalists. Judging panels are not obligated to name a winner in any category unless they determine that the quality of the work under consideration represents the standard of excellence in automotive journalism that is the hallmark of the Motor Press Guild Awards. Therefore, there may be a category or categories without a winner.
The decisions of the judges are final and not subject to review.
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software