-MPG Awards Recognize Excellence in Automotive Journalism
-Awards to be Presented on Sunday, February 24, 2019

October 23, 2018 (Los Angeles, CA) – The Motor Press Guild (MPG) Board of Directors recently announced a call for nominations for its prestigious 2018 Motor Press Guild “Best of the Year” journalism awards. Now in its 24th year, the awards aim to recognize individuals who have demonstrated automotive journalism excellence during the calendar year.

“This is part of a very proud tradition we established in 1994,” shared Amelia Dalgaard MPG President. “The awards celebrate outstanding automotive journalism and honors the name of one of the founders of our organization, Dean Batchelor.”

The MPG is pleased to announce the lead judges for each category. The lead judge in each category are as follows:

Articles: Chris Woodyard
Audio Visual: Jean Jennings
Social Media: Michael Harley
Books: Preston Lerner
Photography: Randy Leffingwell

Each year, the MPG also presents the Dean Batchelor Award. This prestigious award singles out persons demonstrating outstanding achievement in automotive journalism and communications — the judges cite the single piece of work that best represents the professional standards and excellence epitomized by the career and life of Dean Batchelor.

The Dean Batchelor Award recipient is selected from among the winners of the MPG Best of the Year Awards in eight journalistic disciplines. This year’s Dean Batchelor award judges are Chuck Koch, John Clinard, Doug Stokes, Joni Gray (1st alternate), and Harold Osmer (2nd alternate).

The eight unique categories of journalistic endeavor that the Guild will honor in 2018 as the Best of the Year in each category include:

MPG Best of the Year: News Article
MPG Best of the Year: Feature Article

MPG Best of the Year: Video Review (streaming, YouTube, network, website)
MPG Best of the Year: Audio Program/Podcast

Social Media:
MPG Best of the Year: Social Media Feed (e.g., Instagram, Twitter, Facebook)
MPG Best of the Year: YouTube Channel

MPG Best of the Year: Books

Bob D’Olivo Award for Photography

Entries in each category will be judged by select three-person MPG panels with the individual “Best of” category winners then considered by an executive committee for the overall 2018 Batchelor Award honor. Nominees in all categories do not have to be Motor Press Guild members, anyone may nominate a work for consideration for a 2018 award.

The MPG enthusiastically encourages all journalists and photographers to nominate exemplary work that they (or a colleague) have done during 2018, and to get it in as early as possible for judging. Recognizing such work is something that encourages excellence in our chosen profession, and that helps to make what we do better understood by all. This year’s awards will be presented on the evening of February 24, 2019 at the Petersen Automotive Museum in Los Angeles.

For more information or to submit an entry, please visit

About the Motor Press Guild Awards
The Motor Press Guild Awards single out persons demonstrating outstanding achievement in automotive journalism and communications. Judging for each category is conducted by MPG members and non-members appointed by the Chair of the MPG Awards Committee, and a final panel of three judges, including the Chair of the MPG Awards Committee as Head Judge, selects the winner of the Dean Batchelor Award from amongst the category winners. Selected separately by the Motor Press Guild Board of Directors, the Lifetime Achievement Award is presented on a case-by-case basis to individuals for their outstanding contributions to the automotive communications industry.

About the Motor Press Guild
The Los Angeles-based Motor Press Guild (MPG) is the largest automotive media association in North America. This exclusive, non-profit organization is dedicated to upholding the highest ideals in automotive journalism and promoting education and information exchange within the motoring press. For more information, please visit

# # # vegasgg pokerseri warungtoto menang123 dunia777 slot jakartacash bigdewa nusa365 koko138 vegasgg slot infini88